Home » 10th NASS leadership: APC announces Akpabio, Abbas as Senate President, Speaker 

10th NASS leadership: APC announces Akpabio, Abbas as Senate President, Speaker 

0 comment 2 minutes read
InShot 20230508 193523678

The All Progressives Congress, APC, has officially announced the zoning for the 10th National Assembly leadership- Senate and House of Representatives.

The party’s National Working Committee in a press release signed by its National Publicity Secretary, Barrister Felix Morka on Monday, May 8 announced the resolution.

The ruling party in the statement announced that it has zoned it Senate President and Deputy Senate President positions to the South-South and North-West respectively, with former Governor of Akwa Ibom and lawmaker representing Akwa Ibom North-West, Senator Godswill Obot Akpabio, being pencilled down as Senate President while Senator representing Kano North, Jibrin Barau clinched the office of the Deputy Senate President.

The statement further added that the NWC arrived at the resolution after diligence meeting and consultation with the president-elect, other members and stakeholders of the party.

For the House of Representatives, the APC has also announced the zoning of the Speakership slot to the North-West and the Deputy Speakership to the South-East.

The lawmaker representing Zaria Federal Constituency, Kaduna State Hon. Abbas Tajudeen has clinched the Speakership slot while member representing Bende Federal Constituency, Abia State Benjamin Okezie Kalu has been picked as the Deputy Speakers.

The NWC in the statement, however, enjoined party leaders, members and the Nigerian populace to continue to work for the peace and progress of the country during and beyond the leadership transition time.

Meanwhile, there are rumours from some quarters that former governor of Zamfara State, Senator Abdulaziz Yari has disagreed with the president-elect, Senator Bola Ahmed Tinubu for zoning the position of the Senate President to the South-South.

Senator Yari has also declared for Senate President but the party leadership, in furtherance of equity and fairness had resolved to zone the position to the South-South with the former of Niger Delta being the frontrunner.

Sources within the APC said that the president-elect remained adamant on zoning the Senate presidency to the South-South in order not to rekindle the already managed religious acrimony occasion by the Muslim-muslim ticket adopted by the APC for the 2023 presidential election.

You may also like

Leave a Comment