Home » 7th NASS: Gbajabiamila blames self for supporting Tambuwal to become speaker

7th NASS: Gbajabiamila blames self for supporting Tambuwal to become speaker

0 comment 2 minutes read
images (5)

Femi Gbajabiamila, Speaker of the House of Representatives, has said he regretted giving his support to the outgoing governor of Sokoto, Aminu Tambuwal to emerge as Speaker in the 7th National Assembly.

The City Gazette reports that Gbajabiamila who is the current Speaker of the 9th National Assembly remembered how he threw his weight behind Tambuwal to clinch Speaker position back then said “I regret it.”

The Lagos politician expressed his regret on Wednesday in Abuja at Transcorp during the meeting of the Joint Task – 10th.

It was earlier reported that the All Progressives Congress, APC, leading candidate for the position of 10th Senate President, Senator Godswill Akpabio on Wednesday night met with Gbajabiamila and factional members of the Opposition Parties in the 10th Assembly.

The meeting was summoned by the Joint Task of the 10th Assembly, a group of members-elect drawn from various political parties who were elected into the national assembly.

The main reason for calling the meeting was to form alliance with all factional returning members and other members-elect who support the preferred candidates of the All Progressives Congress (APC) for the positions of Speaker and Deputy Speaker.

The Speaker, who regretted how he was in the forefront of the agitation to ensure that Tambuwal become Speaker for the 7th Assembly gave account of how the opposition parties have been striving to oppose the consensus candidates of the APC.

Sources revealed that the party’s consensus candidates for the Speaker of the 10th National Assembly, Tajudeen Abbas and Benjamin Kalu were adopted by the opposition caucus.

The tussle for who will become the leaders of both the lower and upper chambers -the 10th Senate and House of Representatives has a taken a new dimension as members of the opposition parties are currently backing other candidates different from the ones anointed by the ruling party.

You may also like

Leave a Comment