Home » Argentina vs France: Referee admits errors during final 

Argentina vs France: Referee admits errors during final 

0 comment 1 minutes read

The referee that presided over the final match between Argentina and France in the 2022 World Cup final in Qatar, Szymon Marciniak, admitted making a mistake during his officiating at the Lusial Stadium.

The Polish received wide encomium from both football enthusiasts for his stellar performanc at the final.

The French media faulted him for not disallowing Messi’s extra-time goal to because three Argentina players broke FIFA rules by stepping on the pitch before the ball crossed the line.

Marciniak replied by showing a proof of seven France players on the pitch when Kylian Mbappe netted his equalising penalty later in the game.

He, however, acknowledged that his officiating wasn’t outrightly hitch-free.

“Of course, there were mistakes in this final,” he told Sport PL.

Read This: Argentina: Messi dismisses resignation rumour

“I interrupted the French counter-attack after a bad tackle by Marcos Acuna.

“I was afraid that the fouled player wanted to unwind, and I read it wrong because nothing happened, and you could give an advantage and then come back with a card.

“It’s hard. In a game like this, I take such a mistake in the dark. The important thing is that there were no big mistakes.”

Argentina defeated France on penalty to clinch the 2022 world Cup.

You may also like

Leave a Comment