Home » Prof. Oba to head 11-man committee for new Kwara University of education 

Prof. Oba to head 11-man committee for new Kwara University of education 

0 comment 1 minutes read

Kwara State Governor AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq has named former Vice Chancellor of the University of Ilorin Prof. Shuaib Oba Abdulraheem (OFR) as chairman of the study, planning and implementation committee for the establishment of Kwara State University of Education.

AbdulRazaq made this known through a statement by his Chief Press Secretary, Rafiu Ajakaye on Wednesday.

Members of the committee include Deacon Pastor Afolayan J. Babatunde (Secretary); Professor (Mrs) Medinat Salman; Prof. (Mrs) Sidikat F. Adeyemi; Prof. Umar Gunu; Engineer Sa’ad Belgore; Mrs. Mulikat Lawal; Femi Aina; former Special Adviser on Special Duties Alhaji Abubakar Abdul-Razaq Jiddah; and a representative each of the Ministries of Housing and Urban Development and Justice (the latter being a female).

The state government has begun plans to use one of three existing Colleges of Education in the state to kick off the University.

The state is currently make efforts to have one of the CoEDs converted to a Federal College of Education, while the third one will also be empowered to award bachelor’s degree in line with the recent laws governing Colleges of Education in Nigeria.

Some of the terms of reference of the committee include drawing of the modalities for the establishment, workings, and funding of the school.

It is further charged to see the need for a state-owned specialised university of education, including an assessment of the existing conventional, non-degree awarding —NCE/Diploma — colleges or university which may not be fit limited for automatic registration with the Teachers’ Registration Council.

Prof. Shuaib Oba was chairman, Federal Character Commission.

You may also like

Leave a Comment